Rome to Athens

Alright just a quick post about my trip from Rome to Athens and my day in Athens before the Islands.

So I woke up super early (like 4.30am) to pack my stuff and go down to the reception of the camping Rome hostel to catch the shuttle bus to the airport. Very pleased they have this service as an option but not so pleased with the times is operates haha!

Anyway I arrived at the airport nice and early and checked in for my flight. I was flying Vueling Airlines which is very budget and has some strict rules. I’ll make another post about the budget airlines I think.

As you can imagine I was pretty nervous about my first overseas domestic flight haha. I’m used to flying in my own country but trying to figure out other ones can be daunting. Thankfully it wasn’t too difficult to work it out. They all spoke english and were helpful with directions. Just like normal at home you check in, go through security and find your departure gate.

I tried to download as many TV show episodes as I could the night before as I had a long wait in the airport and then a 2 hour flight roughly, which I mostly slept on to be honest. I had a pretty nasty head cold too which makes flights uncomfortable due to the popped ear situation.

So once I arrived in Athens it was pretty easy to maneuver my way out to baggage claim and then towards the trains. I lined up with everyone else and bought a ticket to one of Athens central stations, Monastiraki, which was where my hostel was located near.

Thankfully it was pretty simple. Just buy a ticket, jump on the train (they only head in one direction), and then wait for your stop to be called as there were no train changes needed. It was though an unfortunately longggg train ride that became quite cramped haha.

Once I arrived at my station I got off and made my way up to the square. Unfortunately escalators and lifts can be lacking in places in Europe so you have to be prepared to lug your suitcase up some stairs.

I got out my offline maps and figured out how to get to my hostel. Unfortunately I couldn’t check in yet as I was too early but I did have a nice pamper session booked at a spa nearby so I decided to go for a walk to find it and have a nice relaxing afternoon. I got a bundle that included a massage, a body scrub, a steam room, a pedicure including the fish tank thing and a manicure. This place was called Athens Fish Spa Massage & Hammam and it was very affordable and lovely. While I was there I actually met another girl from the Greek Islands trip I was about to take!

Once I had finished up here I went back to the hostel to check in and then went up to the rooftop bar and restaurant to grab something to eat and meet the rest of our Greek Island tour group and get a bit of an orientation of the week ahead.

After this a few of us decided to head out and grab a few must need items that can be quite pricey on the Islands. The girl I met earlier at the spa, Jess, and I also had a little wander around the town for some clothes and grabbed a few treats from a Greek bakery.

We then hit the hay for an early morning and big day ahead haha! This was actually the worst hostel I stayed in.. so bad that I booked a hotel instead for the rest of my time in Athens after the Island tour. I’ll document this in my other post I’ve got going about the places I stayed..

Alright next stop.. Mykonos


Leave a comment